Maintaining Creativity Respect and Success

Photobucket

Photobucket

“Maintaining Creativity Respect and Success” are four words that sum up this young entrepreneur and his magnetically blooming company MCRS. I got the opportunity to have a talk with him and see where he’s been, where he’s going and what insight he has for you rising stars. Check out our enlightening conversation.

1. What do the letters MCRS stand for?
MCRS stands for Maintaining, Creativity, Respect and Success

2. When was it founded?

It was founded in 2007, its been underground until now.

3. Who are the founding members?

It’s just me, Edwin Nunez. I’ve been designing lines for everyone out there, so I figure why not do the math and start my own line. I do have a corporate side as well.

4. Where is the company based and where are you from?

 The company is based out of new york. I was born in New York (never left). I love it here. My nationality is Dominican, Egyptian and Spaniard (first grandpa and grandma are Egyptian and Spaniard) my mom is also Spaniard.

5. Has your company worked with any well known people?

 Right now we’re handing things down to Lil Wayne, Gym Class Heroes and a few skaters.

6. What influenced the launch of this company?

Well, I started off as an intern at The Source Magazine (was there for a year and half) then left with my boss to work as a fashion stylist on videos for Jay-z, Diddy, Mase, Missy, Busta and a lot more. After doing a few years of styling, Diddy mentioned that he was starting Sean John and needed advice in creating the right look for it. I then moved from styling to designing and Sean John was started, I remember it was me and 3 other Dominicans that were the first designers in the office, after that I helped start Akademiks, G-unit, Fetish, Gino Green Globaland a few other brands. Like I said before, I figured if these lines are growing from my designs why not start my own company. So I put together everything I learned and started MCRS.

7. Does MCRS have positions that people can apply for? If so, how can they do so?

 The company is still growing, the only positions open right now is SALES, ONLINE PROMOTIONS and of course FANS!!!!

8. Has MCRS been featured in any national publications or on television?

 It will in the summer, we have alot of great things in the works!

9. Who or what personally inspires you to push forth with your career?

 I got into the fashion business by mistake. I wanted to be a comedian like Jim Carrey when he did Ace Ventura, then I started as a stylist, I looked up to Roger Mckenzie (my boss at the Source magazine, which is now the best celeb stylist around), the other person has been Diddy, I learned a lot from him, I learned that people need to be themselves and control their business whether your an intern or an assistant or a CEO, the one thing that never changes is how you deal with YOUR business. The rest has just been life kicking me down that pushes me to breathe, dream, life, love, hate and appreciate my career.

10. Does MCRS have any out of the box ventures or projects that are coming up in the future that people should be on the lookout for?

 Yes we do in fact, we just partnered up with a hotel in Miami called Clevelander, I designed an exclusive collection for the hotel called RockStar by MCRS, the collection will be used as their uniform for 2 years, we also partnered up with NYC MOVIE SCREENINGS, they will also be using MCRS t-shirts as their uniforms and every Wednesday we will be giving away free movie tickets to new members on our website shopmcrs.com We are also hooked up with a company called Toy2 they are a USA rep for HOT TOYS, which make collectible Toys that run for around $200, they made the toy of The dark night joker, Iron man, the new Terminator movie, oh and on Sunday night (12am) into Monday the whole website goes into a 24 hour sale, the sales are run by a funny comedian named David “Dtrix” Cortez (very funny guy). You have to tune in every Monday to check out his mini show on the site. I also own a Film company called Scorpion filmsthat is working on a Documentary called LifeStyle, the Doc is based on the underground talent of new york city. The DVD for LifeStyle will be packaged and sold with the t-shirts on-line, the film company is also pre-production for a reality show based on a private jet company called Imperial Jets, the show is called Fly High, it documents the activities that the private jet company goes through when dealing with celebrities. Getting them to their tour events to getting them around the world for a premier.

11. Do you find the industry that you’re in to have challenges that have given you slight setbacks?

 The only thing that has given me a setback is going out to the stores to see what’s new, there’s nothing new out there, every clothing company is doing the same look the other company is doing. I don’t understand how the customer is still buying into that. I made it my mission to listen to what the customer wants from MCRS, I try to be as personal as I can with the customer, I always try to email everyone that buys a t-shirt from us. I like to make sure that people know that they bought a shirt from a real person not just a company. We also make sure that the more people buy our stuff the more they get back, something a lot of companies don’t bother on doing…

12. Has your company been affected by the recent recession, if so what are you doing to divert  from it?

 Everyone has been affected somehow. The difference is that I designed the company to have low expectations and goals, for example, we only ordered 7,000 t-shirts for one collection from the factory. Making it a very limited edition collection. Once those 7,000 shirts are gone we’ll move on to the next collection with new designs, using those 7000 shirts as a test for comments and analyzing which styles sold more then the others. A lot of companies are feeling the recession because their over head was bigger then their profits or too close to it, or they would have positions that didn’t help the company grow. My over head is very low so we can fit into the customer’s pocket without sucking them dry.

13. Who would the company like to work with that they haven’t already?

We’d like to make our customers famous. I think our fans would love to be in our commercials or ads or even our movies.

14. What advice can you give young entrepreneurs about starting a business?

 PLEASE PLEASE make sure that it is something you really want to do, don’t skip school if you’re taking your future as a hobby. Re-think of what you really want to do before you go out there and try to be a CEO and get Jay-z’s money. It doesn’t work that way I assure you… It is not that easy. Most of us that have our own business have gone through some crazy things, I’m sure 80% of us have lost our apartment and have lived in friends houses or even in the street. And trust me you don’t want to be a homeless CEO. So make sure your mind is right before you dive in deep waters.

15. How can people contact you other than MySpace?

 They can go to shopmcrs.com or email us at info@shopmcrs.com

16. Please feel free to add anything that you think my viewers can benefit from that I didn’t ask.

 Hmmm I guess they can benefit by supporting your site a little more, knowledge is power, so the more they read your site, the more they learn about business people..

Please feel free to check out ShopMCRS.com or myspace.com/shopmcrs.com and Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

