‘The Guys, The Roses & The Regrets’: Teen Author Grace Hatton

PhotobucketPhotobucket

FBE: What is your full name?
GH: Grace Hatton

FBE: How old are you?
GH: I am seventeen years old.

FBE: Hometown?
GH: I was born and raised in a city called Leeds which is in the UK and when I was 12 my family moved to the Orlando, Fl and I’ve lived in Orlando ever since.

FBE: What high school do you attend?
GH:I am actually home-schooled

FBE: Though your book is successful and you are a teen author, are you still considering college? If so, where will you attend and what is your prospective major?
GH: Yes I am still considering college but not in the states, my dream university is Oxford and I want to study Fine Art and Creative Writing.

FBE: When did you become interested in writing?
GH: Well I’ve been writing short stories and random scribbles my whole life but on New Years Eve 2003, I started writing my first novel, I don’t know why but I just started writing and I fell in love with it. I haven’t stop writing since, I have so many composition books filled with novels and then of course I have my self help books. Writing is like breathing for me I just do it naturally and I love the idea that with my writing I can provide people with an escape from everyday life or give them the advice they’ve always needed to hear.

FBE: How did you come up with the concept and title of your book?
GH: Well when I was fourteen almost fifteen, I had just gone through a bad relationship with a guy and at that point all my friends were going through crap with guys as well. We we’re all miserable and I thought ‘why are we doing this? Why are we going through all this crap just to say we have a boyfriend? There has to be a better way. So I started writing it was more of a rant actually but I was writing the name came to me, ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’ because those were the three main things girls didn’t understand about relationships. First off most teenage girls don’t know how teenage guys think thus the section called The Guys. Secondly most teenage girls don’t know what true romance is and are often fooled by false romance this the section called ‘The Roses’ and finally most girls don’t know how to get over a relationship gone bad and how to prevent getting into another bad relationship thus the section called ‘The Regrets’.

FBE: Have you completed any other works that are published? Explain
GH: I have fourteen full length completed novels and I am working on my second book in the Girl to Girl series but as of right now, ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’ is my only work to be published.

FBE: How long did it take you to complete ‘The Guys, The Roses & The Regrets’?
GH: The actually writing of ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’ took around eight months but then it had to go through a private editor and the publishing house’s editor, so the editing took another year and a bit. So all together from the start to being published, it was two years all together.

FBE: Are there any challenges that come along with being a teen author?
GH: Of course, they are challenges with everything, the main one with being a teen author and ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’ is many publishing houses and publishing executives didn’t get the concept of the book and said they wouldn’t take it on because there wasn’t a market for it. You see there have been self help books before and there’s been books written by teens before but there hasn’t really been any self help books written by teens. It’s a pretty new concept and the publishing industry wasn’t sure if it would sell. In fact ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’ got rejected over 45 times and that made me feel like crap but I didn’t give up, I pressed on until someone said yes. After all you only need one person to say yes.

FBE: What do you like most about being an author and would you say your age is advantageous?
GH: The best part about being an author, is I get to write, writing is a wonderful thing in fact just recently I discovered one of my favorite quotes about writing that sums up how I feel about it ‘It is a delicious thing to write, to be no longer yourself but to move in an entire universe of your own creating.’ – Gustave Flaubert. That quote sums up how a feel about writing, as a writer I have the opportunity to create entire worlds with the tip of my pen, how amazing is that? So yes the thing I like most about being an author is I get to write and people wanting you to sign their copy of your book is pretty cool two. As for my age, I do believe it gives me some advantages, people are always impressed by my age and how I chose to follow my dreams. You’re never too young to start living your dream, age is only a number and not matter how young or old you are you can make your dreams come true.

FBE: Who or what can you credit to being the ultimate motivator in your life?
GH: My family has been a key motivation in my life, even though they are all over the world they all still support me and my best friends have been awesome as well but my ultimate motivator without a doubt, is God. I know people say that all the time and I know people thank Jesus whenever things go well but I praise my God in the good and the bad for one simple reason, he never leaves me. Everything I have accomplished in my life is because of him and all the glory goes to him.

FBE: Are you currently working on other projects?
GH: Well I am always writing but I am working on the follow up to ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets; The Girl to Girl Dating Guide’. I want to make a Girl to Girl series, and ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’ is the first in that series, the next one is all about confidence and self esteem. I am still working on it but I hope that the next book in the Girl to Girl series will be released by the end of next year at the latest. You can check my website
www.gracehatton.com for updates.

FBE: Will your follow up work be geared solely towards teenagers or will you branch out to other audiences?
GH: Well you see I’ve adults like Dr. Stephanie Parson the former VP of Disney read ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’ and they’ve loved it so much they endorsed it so I know adults love the book two. However I did write it for teens so I am going to continue aiming it at them but if they are any single older women who want fulfilling relationships please feel free to read ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’

FBE: Have you appeared on television or been in any other media?
GH:The closest I have come to TV is videos on
YouTube but I have been featured on radio, magazines and now blogs. I am still working towards getting more media exposure for myself and ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’ so you never know you may see me on TV within the next couple of months.

FBE: Do you have an up coming tour? If so, what are the locations and dates?
GH:Right now, I do not have a tour set up but with the release of my new book I might get one but you can keep checking out
www.gracehatton.com and www.myspace.com/gracehatton for updates. If I get a tour I will put the dates up on those sites.

FBE: What advice do you have for up and coming authors and entrepreneurs?
GH: The first thing you have to accept as an author or entrepreneur is that you dream is going to get rejected in some way or another but that’s when you press on through. Believe in your dream with everything you are, press on through past the rejection and junk until you get that one person to say yes. Never give up on your dream, it’s your dream so don’t let it slip through your fingers. At the end of the day remember this, it’s not how many times you fall down but how many times you get up that counts.

FBE: Feel free to add anything that you think my viewers may benefit from?
GH:Well the other thing about being an author or entrepreneur is eventually when you get past the rejection someone is going to say yes and when that happens all of a sudden your dreams come true and when that happens, when you’re flying on cloud 9, please remember to give back. I am so blessed to be a best selling author, I am so blessed that people enjoy ‘The Guys The Roses & The Regrets’ but you know what makes me truly filled with joy? Giving back, I went to South Africa last year to work in orphanages and I am going to Uganda this year, I believe in giving back to this world as much as I believe in writing. So when you become a success please do not forget to give back. Apart from that I want to encourage you to talk to me; I have MySpace, YouTube and Twitter. I run all of them personally and if you need help/advice feel free to contact me through those and I will get back to you.

“Be Blessed, Give Back and Never Give Up on Your Dreams, Lots of Love”- Grace Hatton – Teen Author

One response to “‘The Guys, The Roses & The Regrets’: Teen Author Grace Hatton

  1. Pingback: Pages tagged "disney"

Leave a Reply

