The Intuitive Design and Style of Earl Lucas

Photobucket

If you’re an owner of the new redefined and sleek 2010 Ford Taurus, you have a closer linkage to Mr. Earl Lucas than you know. Named one of Automotive Design and Production’s ten hottest designers, Design Manager for Ford Motor Company, 38 year old Lucas has made his mark in the automotive industry for 10 solid years. Hailing from Southfield, Michigan (originally from Dallas, TX), Lucas ingeniously and firmly planted his feet on success lane early in the game. “I attended high school at the very famous Arts Magnet High School in Dallas, Texas. This is the same school that Erykah Badu and Norah Jones attended, but I concentrated on visual arts. After high school, I went to College for Creative Studies in Detroit where I focused on transportation design. The experience was valuable because it allowed me to learn the craft of design by paying dues and honing my drawing skills,” says Earl. His resume includes  playing a key role as the interior design manager on the award-winning 2009 Ford Flex, senior designer on the 2000 Lincoln Navigator and Ford Expedition interior design team, and he has also worked on a number of programs ranging from 2003 Ford F-150, 2007 Ford Edge and the Lincoln MKX.

As a design manager, he credits “good music” to inspiring his work. “I have a ton of shapes and ideas in my head but music can assist in just letting these ideas flow. The better the music the more inspired I become and the better the shapes that I create.” He also attests that anything from everyday objects, fashion design, nature or anything he encounters throughout life stimulate his creative senses.

Although, Ford Motor Company as well as many other automotive corporations are highly affected by the current economic status of the country it hasn’t impinged Earl’s optimism and determination to be the best at what he does. “My faith in God is what I credit for being a motivational force in life for me. Understanding that there is something bigger then us keeps me in the proper mindset and keeps me humble,” says Earl. He assured me that he has many big and exciting projects underway and in the next five years sees himself as Chief Designer on a major program within Ford. On a closing note as always I asked Lucas what advice he has for you blossoming entrepreneurs and he left me with this “The best advice I can give to any young entrepreneurs is to never let anyone stand in your way of doing what you love. I would also advise that you to find something you love to do and don’t get so caught up in chasing money.”

Leave a Reply

